List of the Faculty participating in CBMS at Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Click the faculty name to see research description

Name
Primary (Secondary) Appointment(s)
Research Specialty
Email
Aiken, Christopher R. Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology Biochemistry and molecular biology of HIV infection chris.aiken@vanderbilt.edu, christopher.r.aiken@Vanderbilt.Edu
Ascano, Manuel Biochemistry Post-transcriptional gene regulation in innate immunity and cellular stress manuel.ascano@vanderbilt.edu
Bader, David M. Medicine david.bader@Vanderbilt.edu
Baldwin, H. Scott Pediatrics Delineating the molecular basis of vascular development in the mammalian embryo as an approach to understanding the etiology of congenital heart diseases. Scott.Baldwin@Vanderbilt.edu
Blakely, Randy D. Pharmacology molecular neuroscience and neurogenetics linked to brain targets of psychostimulants and antidepressants and neurotransmitter inactivation randy.blakely@vanderbilt.edu
Boothby, Mark Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology Signaling and gene regulation mechanisms in immune system hematopoietic cells, especially those of B and T lymphoid lineages. Lymphoid lineage cells are the most central means of regulating characteristics of immunity and auto-immunity, and they also are vital in the inflammation and pathophysiology of most of the main disease burden in the US (atherosclerotic vascular disease with heart attacks and strokes, obesity, diabetes, and cancer), The lab seeks to identify new signal transduction, transcription, and chromatin or epigenetic ways in which lymphoid lineage cells are regulated, with active investigations in immunity, auto-immunity (autoimmunity) and the ways in which sustained antibody responses are evoked since antibody levels are crucial in the efficacy of vaccines and are key components in a variety of autoimmune diseases. mark.boothby@vanderbilt.edu
Bordenstein, Seth Biological Sciences Centrality of microbes in biology, Evolution and applications of microbes (genomics, antibiotics and vector control), Universality of maternal microbial transmission (including humans), Phylosymbiosis s.bordenstein@vanderbilt.edu
Brash, Alan R. Pharmacology Biosynthesis of prostaglandins and lipoxygenase products alan.brash@vanderbilt.edu
Chalkley, Roger Molecular Physiology & Biophysics roger.g.chalkley@vanderbilt.edu
Chazin, Walter J. Biochemistry Structural Cell Biology: DNA replication, damage response and repair; ubiquitination; calcium signal transduction. walter.chazin@vanderbilt.edu
Chen, Jin Medicine To investigate the role of Eph receptor tyrosine kinases and their ligands (ephrins) in tumor angiogenesis, tumor metabolism, and cancer stem cells, and to develop inhibitors targeting EphA2 receptor in cancer. jin.chen@vanderbilt.edu
Chiang, Chin Cell and Developmental Biology Hedgehog signaling in development and cancer chin.chiang@vanderbilt.edu
Coffey, Robert J. Medicine robert.coffey@vanderbilt.edu
Colbran, Roger J. Molecular Physiology & Biophysics Structure, function and subcellular targeting of Ca2+/calmodulin-dependent protein kinase II in health and disease roger.colbran@vanderbilt.edu
Cortez, David Biochemistry Genome maintenance by the DNA damage response david.cortez@vanderbilt.edu
Cover, Timothy L. Medicine Bacteria-host interactions, bacterial toxins, Helicobacter pylori, gastric cancer timothy.L.cover@vanderbilt.edu
Crowe, James E. Pediatrics james.crowe@vanderbilt.edu
Denison, Mark R. Pediatrics Coronavirus / SARS replication Virus cell biology Emerging viruses in biodefense Synthetic biology mark.denison@vanderbilt.edu
Dermody, Terence S. Viral pathogenesis and vaccine development terry.dermody@vanderbilt.edu
Emeson, Ronald B. Pharmacology Molecular neurobiology ron.emeson@vanderbilt.edu
Fingleton, Barbara Mary Cancer Biology Understanding function and how to therapeutically target inflammatory molecules in colitis and colon cancer barbara.fingleton@Vanderbilt.Edu
Friedman, Katherine L. Biological Sciences Maintenance of chromosome ends by telomerase in Saccharomyces cerevisiae.

katherine.friedman@vanderbilt.edu
Goldenring, James R. Surgery jim.goldenring@vanderbilt.edu
Gould, Kathleen L. Cell and Developmental Biology kathy.gould@vanderbilt.edu
Graham, Todd R. Biological Sciences Protein transport and membrane biogenesis tr.graham@vanderbilt.edu
Hann, Stephen R. Cell and Developmental Biology Our principal research interest focuses on the regulation and function of the oncogene and transcriptional regulator, c-myc. Oncogenic c-Myc is thought to be a driving force in up to 70% of human cancers. steve.hann@vanderbilt.edu
Hasty, Alyssa H. Molecular Physiology & Biophysics Obesity-related increases in adipose tissue macrophages leading to inflammation and insulin resistance. alyssa.hasty@vanderbilt.edu
Hiebert, Scott W. Biochemistry Molecular Mechanisms of Acute Leukemia, cell cycle control, and the action of tumor suppressors. scott.hiebert@vanderbilt.edu
Ihrie, Rebecca Cell and Developmental Biology We study the biology of brain tumors and the properties of stem cells in normal brain. rebecca.ihrie@vanderbilt.edu
Irish, Jonathan Cell and Developmental Biology Single cell systems biology for translational cancer and immunology research jonathan.irish@vanderbilt.edu
Kenworthy, Anne K. Molecular Physiology & Biophysics Anne.Kenworthy@vanderbilt.edu
Lee, Ethan Cell and Developmental Biology Mechanism of Wnt signal transduction in development and disease ethan.lee@vanderbilt.edu
Link, Andrew J. Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology Functional genomics and systems biology analysis of the immune response and translation andrew.link@Vanderbilt.Edu
Magnuson, Mark A. Molecular Physiology & Biophysics mark.magnuson@vanderbilt.edu
Marnett, Lawrence J. Biochemistry Cyclooxygenase-2 structure and function; chemistry and biology of DNA damage-dependent mutagenesis and signaling larry.marnett@vanderbilt.edu
Mchaourab, Hassane S. Molecular Physiology & Biophysics hassane.mchaourab@vanderbilt.edu
Miller, David M. Cell and Developmental Biology development of the nervous system david.miller@vanderbilt.edu
Moore, Daniel J Pediatrics The overall goal of my research program is to induce life-long immune tolerance to specific self and foreign (transplantation) antigens in individuals with pre-existing autoimmune disease. daniel.moore@vanderbilt.edu
Neuert, Gregor Molecular Physiology & Biophysics Quantitative Systems Biology of signal transduction and gene regulation of coding and non-coding RNA gregor.neuert@vanderbilt.edu
O'Brien, Richard M. Molecular Physiology & Biophysics Diabetes and the Glucose-6-Phosphatase Gene Family richard.obrien@vanderbilt.edu
Osheroff, Neil Biochemistry Function and biology of DNA topoisomerases neil.osheroff@vanderbilt.edu
Patton, James G. Biological Sciences Regulation of gene expression at the RNA level James.G.Patton@Vanderbilt.edu
Pietenpol, Jennifer A. Biochemistry p53 family signaling axis (p53, p63, and p73); Breast Cancer; Mechanisms of tumor suppression and epithelial cell differentiation jennifer.pietenpol@vanderbilt.edu
Rollins-Smith, Louise A. Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology Innate Immune Defenses. Developmental and Comparative Immunology. Immune defenses against Batrachochytrium dendrobatidis louise.rollins-smith@vanderbilt.edu
Sanders, Charles R. Biochemistry How defects in membrane proteins result in human diseases (Alzheimer's, cardiac arrhythmias, kidney fibrosis, Charcot-Marie-Tooth disease). chuck.sanders@vanderbilt.edu
Sealy, Linda J. Molecular Physiology & Biophysics identifying the transcription factors that control the conversion to EMT and metastasis in breast cancer linda.sealy@vanderbilt.edu
Shieh, Bih-Hwa Pharmacology Molecular mechanism of retinal degeneration: role of rhodopsin and arrestin bih-hwa.shieh@vanderbilt.edu
Skaar, Eric Patrick Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology The pathogenesis of bacterial infections caused by Staphylococcus aureus (Staph infections), Bacillus anthracis (Anthrax), and Acinetobacter baumannii (soft tissue infections). eric.skaar@vanderbilt.edu
Southard-Smith, E. Michelle Medicine We study the genes and signaling pathways that affect visceral organ innervation focusing on the enteric nervous system in the gut wall and peripheral innervation of the lower urinary tract. michelle.southard-smith@vanderbilt.edu
Stafford, John Michael Medicine Cardiovascular risk associated with diabetes and obesity. Lipid Metabolism and HDL, Sex-differences in metabolism, Exercise and HDL function john.stafford@vanderbilt.edu
Stein, Roland W. Molecular Physiology & Biophysics Focused on defining the transcription factors involved in controlling the expression of Pdx-1 and MafA. In addition, we are examining how transcriptional factors influence beta cell formation and function. roland.stein@vanderbilt.edu
Sterling, Julie Ann Medicine Cancer metastasis to bone and tumor-induced bone disease. julie.sterling@vanderbilt.edu
Stricker, Thomas P Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology
Tansey, William P Cell and Developmental Biology Oncoproteins, Ubiquitin, Proteolysis william.p.tansey@vanderbilt.edu
Tyska, Matthew John Cell and Developmental Biology matthew.tyska@vanderbilt.edu
Van Kaer, Luc Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology Antigen presentation and lymphocyte development luc.van.kaer@Vanderbilt.Edu
Weil, P. Anthony Molecular mechanisms of transcriptional regulation tony.weil@vanderbilt.edu
Wente, Susan Cell and Developmental Biology susan.wente@vanderbilt.edu
Williams, Christopher Shawn Medicine 1) Epigenetic control of intestinal epithelial wound healing and repair programs and relationship to colorectal oncogenesis. 2) Junctional signaling in mucosal wound healing responses and inflammatory carcinogenesis. 3) Oxidative injury defenses in Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD) and colitis associated carcinoma (CAC). christopher.williams@vanderbilt.edu
Wilson, Keith T. Medicine Mucosal immunology, mechanisms of inflammation, oxidative stress and gastrointestinal carcinogenesis, host-pathogen interactions keith.wilson@vanderbilt.edu
Winder, Danny G. Molecular Physiology & Biophysics Synaptic mechanisms in addiction and anxiety danny.winder@vanderbilt.edu
Zijlstra, Andries Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology Understanding and targeting tumor cell adhesion and migration in cancer metastasis andries.zijlstra@vanderbilt.edu
Zinkel, Sandra S. Medicine BCL-2 family, BID, programmed cell death, hematopoiesis, Stem cells, DNA damage response, leukemia, Apoptosis, Biochemistry, Cancer, Cell cycle, DNA repair, Knockout, Mass spectroscopy, Mouse, Phosphorylation, Proteomics, Signal transduction sandra.zinkel@vanderbilt.edu
Zwiebel, Laurence J. Biological Sciences The comprehensive study of olfaction and olfactory-based behaviors in malaria and other disease vector mosquitoes l.zwiebel@vanderbilt.edu
 

Vanderbilt University is committed to principles of equal opportunity and affirmative action.
Copyright © 2008 Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
The Office of Biomedical Research Education & Training. All rights reserved.
For questions or problems concerning this page, please submit a help ticket.